Skip to content ↓
Redborne Upper School

Redborne Upper School

& Community College

Science Faculty

ScienceThe Science Faculty consists of 23 teaching staff and 6 support staff. The faculty is made up of a number of departments which include: biology, chemistry, physics, psychology and agriculture.

The teachers holding responsibilities within the faculty are:

Mrs V Hale - Head of science
Mr J Catchpole – Chemistry subject leader
Dr K Juty – Biology subject leader
Ms O Calloway – Physics subject leader
Mrs M Kenny – Psychology subject leader
Mr A Hodds – Head of farm
Mr D Brady – KS4 coordinator
Mrs E Brady – Biology - medical science

On joining Redborne in year 9, students will follow the AQA Combined Science: Trilogy GCSE qualification. This qualification leads to two full GCSEs, awarded at levels 9-9 to 1-1. 

In Years 10 and 11 students will continue with their AQA GCSEs (some via the AQA Entry Level Certificate route initially), but many students will choose to study all three of the separate sciences (biology, chemistry & physics) in greater depth. This leads to three GCSEs in each subject, awarded at levels 9 to 1.

As well as the qualifications above, we also offer the following courses with the science faculty:

  • City & Guilds Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Agriculture

Science Exp

In the Sixth Form students can choose from:

  • OCR AS and A level Biology, Chemistry and Physics
  • AQA AS and A level Psychology
  • Medical Biology
  • City & Guilds Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Agriculture

The faculty also runs a number of extra-curricular activities which include inter house competitions, field trips e.g. Whipsnade Zoo, Luton Law court, Gifted and Talented events, Museum trips, University lecture visits and much more besides.

Contact Us

Flitwick Road, Ampthill,
MK45 2NU

01525 404462